Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A)

The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) established a new Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) discretionary program that will provide grants over the next 5 years.

Overview

- Funding supports local initiatives to prevent death and serious injury on roads and streets, commonly referred to as "Vision Zero" or "Toward Zero Deaths" Initiatives.
- \$1 billion in annual funding, FY 2022-2026
- 40% for planning and 60% for Implementation
- 80% Federal | 20% Local Match. In-kind contributions allowed

Timeline

- Notice of Funding Opportunity is Now Open
- Applications are due by 5:00 p.m. EDT on September 15, 2022

Who is eligible to apply?

- Metropolitan planning organizations;
- Counties, cities, towns, and other special districts that are subdivisions of a State;
- Federally recognized Tribal governments; and
- Partnerships comprised of the entities above.

What kind of activities are eligible?

- Develop or update a "Comprehensive Safety Action Plan" or Action Plan (e.g., Vision Zero plans).
- Conduct planning, design, and development activities in support of an Action Plan.
- Carry out projects and strategies identified in an Action Plan. Applicant must already have established Action Plan in place. Activities must be tied directly to projects and strategies identified in Action Plan.

Grant Types

- 1. Action Plan
 - a. Develop or complete a comprehensive safety action plan.
 - Conduct supplemental action planning activities (in support of an existing comprehensive safety action plan)
- 2. Implementation
 - a. Implement projects and strategies
 - b. Conduct planning and design
 - c. Conduct supplemental action planning activities (in support of an existing comprehensive safety action plan)

What is happening locally?

- Existing local safety plans <u>do not</u> meet US DOT's requirements for a comprehensive safety action plan.
- DMATS and RPA 8 boards are preparing to apply this September for grants to develop comprehensive safety action plans.
- Planning work would be divided between a private consultant and ECIA staff.
- If a SS4A planning grant is awarded in this round, the action plan could be completed in FY 2023 and area agencies could look to apply for project implementation funding in 2024.

County	City	2020	SS4A Match
Clinton County	Andover	109	\$93.32
Clinton County	Calamus	356	\$304.79
Clinton County	Camanche	4,570	\$3,912.67
Clinton County	Charlotte	389	\$333.05
Clinton County	Delmar	542	\$464.04
Clinton County	DeWitt	5,514	\$4,720.89
Clinton County	Goose Lake	239	\$204.62
Clinton County	Grand Mound	615	\$526.54
Clinton County	Lost Nation	434	\$371.58
Clinton County	Low Moor	250	\$214.04
Clinton County	Maquoketa (pt.)	-	\$0.00
Clinton County	Toronto	102	\$87.33
Clinton County	Welton	121	\$103.60
Clinton County	Wheatland	775	\$663.53

City of DeWitt	\$4,720.89
City of Camanche	\$3,912.67
RCTP	\$3,366.44

County	City	2020	SS4A Match
Delaware County	Colesburg	386	\$507.23
Delaware County	Delaware	142	\$186.60
Delaware County	Delhi	420	\$551.91
Delaware County	Dundee	198	\$260.18
Delaware County	Dyersville (pt.)	297	\$390.28
Delaware County	Earlville	716	\$940.87
Delaware County	Edgewood (pt.)	620	\$814.72
Delaware County	Greeley	217	\$285.15
Delaware County	Hopkinton	622	\$817.35
Delaware County	Manchester	5,065	\$6,655.72
Delaware County	Masonville	99	\$130.09
Delaware County	Ryan	350	\$459.92

City of Manchester	\$6,655.72
RCTP	\$5,344.28

County	City	2020	SS4A Match
Dubuque County	Balltown	79	\$78.37
Dubuque County	Bankston	23	\$22.82
Dubuque County	Bernard	114	\$113.10
Dubuque County	Cascade (pt.)	1,996	\$1,980.16
Dubuque County	Durango	20	\$19.84
Dubuque County	Dyersville (pt.)	4,180	\$4,146.83
Dubuque County	Epworth	2,023	\$2,006.94
Dubuque County	Farley	1,766	\$1,751.98
Dubuque County	Graf	76	\$75.40
Dubuque County	Holy Cross	356	\$353.17
Dubuque County	Luxemburg	245	\$243.06
Dubuque County	New Vienna	382	\$378.97
Dubuque County	Rickardsville	202	\$200.40
Dubuque County	Sherrill	189	\$187.50
Dubuque County	Worthington	382	\$378.97
Dubuque County	Zwingle (pt.)	63	\$62.50

City of Dyersville \$4,146.83 RCTP \$7,853.17

County	City	2020	SS4A Match
Jackson County	Andrew	380	\$393.95
Jackson County	Baldwin	99	\$102.63
Jackson County	Bellevue	2,363	\$2,449.76
Jackson County	La Motte	237	\$245.70
Jackson County	Maquoketa (pt.)	6,128	\$6,353.00
Jackson County	Miles	408	\$422.98
Jackson County	Monmouth	129	\$133.74
Jackson County	Preston	949	\$983.84
Jackson County	Sabula	506	\$524.58
Jackson County	Spragueville	92	\$95.38
Jackson County	Springbrook	143	\$148.25
Jackson County	St. Donatus	120	\$124.41
Jackson County	Zwingle (pt.)	21	\$21.77

City of Maquoketa \$6,353.00 RCTP \$5,647.00